August Wenzinger (1905 – 1996)

was a prominent cellist, viol player, conductor, teacher, and music scholar from BaselSwitzerland. He was a pioneer of historically informed performance, both as a master of the viola da gamba and as a conductor of Baroque orchestral music and operas. In the 1950ies an 1960ies he conducted the Cappella Coloniensis in first recordings of baroque music on period instruments.


George Frideric Handel (1685 – 1759)
Concerto Grosso in B Flat Major, Op. 3, No 1, HWV 312
Cappella Coloniensis
August Wenzinger   conductor

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 – 1767)
Sonata in D Minor
Sonata in F Major
Ferdinand Conrad   recorder
Johannes Koch   treble viol, bass viol
Klaus Storck   cello
Otto Steinkopf   basson
Hans Heintze   harpsichord

George Frideric Handel (1685 – 1759)
Sonata in G Minor, Op. 2, No. 1, HWV 386
Hans Martin Linde   
Ilse Brix-Meinert   violin
Johannes Koch   bass viol
Walter Gerwig   lute
Rudolf Ewerhart   harpsichord

fb 1405555
EAN code 4260307435554